Book Avis hire cars in Albany

Albany, NY, United States
8 Jul — 15 Jul
Same drop-off
Albany, NY, United States
Fri 8/7
Noon
Fri 15/7
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Albany

$262/dayEconomy
$269/dayCompact
$277/dayIntermediate
$278/dayStandard
$289/dayFull-size
$338/dayLuxury
$318/dayIntermediate SUV
$340/dayStandard SUV

Reviews for Avis in Albany

Overall rating7.4 GoodBased on 72 reviews
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.7
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.5
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
14
6
5
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
Pros:Very easy process.Cons:My car hadn’t been washed though the interior was cleaned.Reviewed 7 Jul. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:convienientCons:nothing reallyReviewed 7 Jul. 2021
review fromcheapflights
4.0
Pros:Clean car, quick linesCons:The employee explained the fuel option as one that I would be paying “per gallon” if it was not returned with a full tank. When I specifically asked about the option and that’s how it was explained to me, it was almost a bold faced lie.Reviewed 1 Jul. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:They did not have the truck I reserved. I reserved a pickup truck for moving and they wanted to replace it with a Toyota Corolla and could not understand why I was not satisfied. The manager was rude and extremely unhelpful. I was given the number of Avis customer service, waited on hold for 20 minutes, only to find they were closed. I was not able to rent from them and had no choice but to pay triple the cost to Alamo for a pickup. For this reason, I am requesting a full refundCons:If they had the vehicle I reservedReviewed 11 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Vehicle was why I expected and performed wellCons:Pick up booth was extremely understaffed. Wait to get the car was over a half an hour with a line of twenty people. One agent was stuck with a client using a translation app or there phone working with one client the whole time backup help was never called. Vehicle had not been cleaned when I got it. Dirty inside and out.Reviewed 10 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Staff needs to clean the cars inside and out before renting. I went inside a vehicle and it wreaked of cigarette smoke. It was disgusting. Another vehicle wasn’t clean on the outside.Reviewed 17 May 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They did not honor the price that I reserved it for. I had to pay moreReviewed 1 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
2.4
Pros:Staff at counter was friendlyCons:--Staff at counter was unable to be reached by phone. Drove 3 1/2 hours each way (NYC --> Albany) to drop off old rental and pick up a new one, then was told at counter that I needn't have made the drive in the first place and I could've just kept the original rental. --Car smelled of cigarettes. Was told to just write down the issue on my rental agreement. --Staff at counter was unable to be reached by phone a second time (and I called over 20 times). This became an issue when I had to extend my new rental. --Toll-free customer service was completely useless when I contacted them to voice my concerns. --In a word, Avis = terrible. I've been an Enterprise customer for 12 years, and I'm kicking myself for using Avis this time.Reviewed 17 Jun. 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:PriceCons:No ability to contact local agent, no store front or signage indicating pickup location, only a guy in a car with a sign. My rental was given away to someone else because I was late getting my car because I couldnt find the location, despite calling the national number they assured me everything was OKReviewed 15 May 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Staff was very friendly and helpful.Cons:We had a reservation but there wasn't a car available. We had one option. A 15 passenger van.Reviewed 29 Jan. 2020
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:staff fine at both locations I appreciate that they do not try to push me to take insuranceCons:car is far from office at pickup site and I had trouble finding the Albany officeReviewed 23 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Yes! The guy was great, upgraded us! We were there fir a funeral and had a 14 hour drive back so it was greatly appreciated.Cons:Nothing.Reviewed 21 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Albany?

737 Albany Shaker Road, Avis car hires

Address

737 Albany Shaker Road

Hours

Friday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Monday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 518 242 4440

Address

131 Colonie Center

Hours

Friday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Monday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday10:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday10:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 518 459 3179

Good to know

Most popular location

737 Albany Shaker Road

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Albany

  • Book your car hire from Albany in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in Albany are around 42% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Albany