Book Avis car rentals at Shannon Airport

Shannon, Ireland - Shannon
1 Jun — 8 Jun
Same drop-off
Shannon, Ireland - Shannon
Wed 1/6
Noon
Wed 8/6
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices at Shannon Airport

Avis
$252/dayEconomy
$358/dayCompact
$377/dayIntermediate
$384/dayStandard
$751/dayPassenger van

Reviews

Overall rating7.7 GoodBased on 30 reviews
Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.1
Overall
7.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.6
Value for money
6.9

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
5
2
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
Hard to find, but easy once you doPros:Very nice shuttle driver. Easy drop off. In and out!Cons:When you use the GPS address in Google...it takes you to an industrial part of the airport. Get that fixed because it was frustrating.Reviewed 21 Sep. 2018
review fromkayak
3.2
Avis and Ireland: don’t do it!Pros:Car itself was fine but given a lesser car than originally booked and for more money.Cons:Beware! Counter staff at Avis Ireland seem to work on commission. Our person would not look up our reservation by the reservation #, we were then told the only automoatic available was a lesser car than we had reserved, for more money! Talked to a 2nd person and told it was high season and that was the rate + lots of add ons. If you want to use the insurance provided by your credit card (we have amex platinum - great coverage) they would put a hold on our account for $5000 euros OR we could pay 48 euros per day for their insurance!!!! Complete scam. Opted to have the hold put on our credit card. Other car companies may do this as well in Ireland. Added a huge amount of stress to an otherwise wonderful trip. Advice: do your homework ahead of time with lots of research on car company policies there.Reviewed 30 Jul. 2018
review fromkayak
9.2
Easy, Clean, PolitePros:The staff at Shannon Airport was super polite and informative. They even threw in a free GPS because they didn’t have the automatic transmission we reserved as we arrived early.Cons:The insurance is very pricey - although it’s a must have because the roads in Ireland are pretty treacherous to say the least.Reviewed 23 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Smooth All The Way Through!Pros:All good. Efficient & friendly personnel at Shannon Airport. Car was ready when we arrived and was perfect for our needs.Reviewed 8 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Cost was twice the quoted priceCons:The final price was double the price quoted on my confirmation. Complete rip-off. I rented cars around the world for over 40 years and never had such an experience. Shame on Avis.Reviewed 15 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Way too expensivePros:The car got good gas milage.Cons:The headlights did not work and caused us to almost get in an accident while driving. It was very scary driving on the winding roads of Ireland with no headlights! The car was also way too expensive for the type of car I rented. Disappointed. Also when we returned the car, it took 20 minutes for the counter to close out my account. The guy next to us was able to close out 4 other customers in the time it took the guy helping me to close me out. Frustrating.Reviewed 5 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
The girl who helped with our pick up was very good. Super friendlyPros:Suggested a larger vehicle for our group which was definitely neededCons:NothingReviewed 31 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Price quoted not same at time of pick up! Very confused reps at counter! I had a quote with CDW insurance yet they said I did not and then tried to almost triple my quote to add coverage!! VERY DISSAPOINTING! While waiting in line a woman told me that she was charged double her quoted rate! Long lines to rent car and I guess that would be why since others were having rate issues as well! Car uncomfortable and under powered!!! Especially, for Irish roads!! Car exterior was dirty. Upon return no agent at counter, had to wait 10-15 mins once he returned computers were down so he could not give us a receipt of charges and to date still have no breakdown receipt of charges.Reviewed 25 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
7.2
pick-up drop offPros:pleasant staff waving insurance on the car was made very challenging by the check-in personCons:Drop off was very busy, many people waiting for the shuttleReviewed 7 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Quick drop and great airport in shannon!Pros:It was quick and easy- literally 10 mins from pulling up to being on our shuttle to the airport!Cons:It's hard to let the experience at the counter in Dublin out of my mind. I hate when I feel taken advantaged of- and that is what Avis did!Reviewed 21 Jun. 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Overall good experience but was quoted wrong pricePros:The staff on both ends were great and the car was fine. My only complaint was that the price quoted did not include some type of "administrative fee" of 30 Euro. Why was this not on the original quote? I know the quote says that it's an estimate but to tack on more than 50% of the original quote seems fishy.Cons:Extra fee charged, not on original quote.Reviewed 23 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Shannon RentalPros:When the car broke down the Kerry Airport staff were wonderful.Cons:That when I went to pick up two cars that were supposed to seat 7 people and hold 4 suticases I realized even for 10 people between cars that was impossible. The car had no storage. So I had to take a much larger 9 person van and was charged an extra $500. It was really highway robbery that their ad quoted the space and the actual car was something entirely different. The one of the cars broke down because the clutch went. it was a new car and a few miles from the airport it kept popping at low speeds. It seemed to be okay on the highway and I made it to Killarney. The next day when I went to road test it to make sure with my husband it totally broke down. It took a few hours to wait for car and tow to reach us and entire group delayed for the morning.Reviewed 8 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Shannon Airport

Arrivals Hall, Avis car hires

Address

Arrivals Hall

Hours

Monday05:30 - 23:00
Saturday05:30 - 23:00
Thursday05:30 - 23:00
Friday05:30 - 23:00
Wednesday05:30 - 23:00
Tuesday05:30 - 23:00
Sunday05:30 - 23:00

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Shannon Airport

  • Book your hire car at Shannon Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy hire cars from Avis at Shannon Airport are around 100% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Shannon Airport