Book Avis hire cars in Amarillo

Amarillo, TX, United States
1 Nov — 8 Nov
Amarillo, TX, United States
Mon 1/11
Noon
Mon 8/11
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Amarillo

Overall rating8.2 ExcellentBased on 29 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
8.0
Overall
8.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
8.6
Value for money
8.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
8
1
2
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
Pros:Great quick friendly check in despite the computer being down.Cons:The car smelt like cigarettes. Leaving the airport on the chip seal road the car was very loud but I assumed it was just as it was a new road so the small pebbles we're making the noise. ~20 minutes later when I got on the highway the car was making a sound like the wheel was going to fall off or something. I pulled over and verified the wheels were all tight and assumed it was a pebble from the road stuck behind the brake shield and was too far from the airport to make it to my destination in time. The noise came and went depending on speed and eventually turned into a very loud dragging noise. I pulled over and looked under the car to find a splash shield was dragging under it. I was able to tear it off and all noises were gone. Can't believe Avis let the car leave this way, I am glad I am a mechanically inclined person to find and resolve this issue.Reviewed 2 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:I booked VW Jetta but I was given Chrysler. I asked why and I was told they did have Jetta and online booking don’t what’s on stock, I did buy that answer. But I paid for a specific vehicle I never got to enjoy. I don’t think Chrysler was worth the same so maybe I should get credit back.Reviewed 27 Oct. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was very welcoming, I couldn’t ask for more. Thank you sir for making our transition smooth and going out of your way to meet our needs. He also recommended the best family owned restaurant el tajavan.Reviewed 10 Nov. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The staff was friendly and helpful. Check out of car was quick and efficient.Cons:No issues to note of.Reviewed 21 May 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Went to go with my grandma for her rental car for her brother funeral, which she has a car, But she wanted to rent. The guy was not helpful and didn’t listen to her at all and if she wasn’t there I would’ve gave that guy the business but we were in a rush and didn’t have time for that. We made reservation weeks ago and the guy gave me a hard time cuz I was gonna be there maybe as a second driver cuz she doesn’t need to tell the guy she had surgery between the legs in January and might need a break and that’s why I was gonna go with her not take my truck and go to the funeral myself but she needed the obvious help so I did go with her, it’s at the airport on the other side of town the guy really could’ve made the extra effort to add me as a driver or whatever you do inthe system it was so Uncourteous I was taken aback, so had to make a whole mother reservation with enterprise (not the airport everyone seems to be arrogant and so full of themselves there) so had to drive to i27 and 45th location then to their I-40 and Soncy Which they only charged us an extra 15 dollars a day and were super helpful the guy was pushing up rental cars like it’s his job or something What a crazy idea go bing the people what they want, but anyways then I dropped it off two days later with gas and clean and responsible use and There was no issue the fact that the guy at Avis didn’t even try and was so weird about it my grandma was getting so worked up about it, I did not approve if we weren’t in a hurry,I would’ve had to talk with him. I didn’t care this way or the other if it was Avis or enterprise I used to get rentals when I flew out of town every weekend But I don’t do it anymore cuz of crap like this guy pulled, just a rude asshole I bet you he acts all happy when he goes to his moms house and acts polite and nice but to another woman whose someone else’s moms mom no courtesy I see what kind of people he is and I won’t even come Down there to do business I’ll go out of my way to say how crappy that fool was every time someone asks about a rental car. Guy was a jerk and creepy to talk to, and I used to do prison ministry I’ve seen the type to I wouldn’t leave him alone with kids.Cons:Give the people their reservation They made weeks ago, tweak the damn reservation in the computer don’t leave people hanging cuz it’s easy to say “sorry we don’t allow you yada yada yada” but instead “one moment let me see what I can do” and if not fine okay but not just rude as a fart from the get goReviewed 24 May 2021
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:Rental agency gave excellent service. We were valued as customers. Will use this agency next time we need to rent a car in Amarillo.Cons:The car we rented was a bit of a disappointment. Mileage was good, but there was a roar from the road when driving at highway speeds.Reviewed 24 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very convenient location and helpful rental assistant.Reviewed 15 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Much Better Than I remembered!!!Pros:The car was absolutely wonderful. The price was better than I expected. My overall experience, including the customer service has made me an Avis customer in the future.Reviewed 8 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Great customer service. Pickup and drop offPros:Very friendly, courteous and efficient staff!!Reviewed 29 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very helpful personal. Great experienceReviewed 29 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Guy was really nice. Good man unlike the woman in Austin.Reviewed 3 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:Had to get a car last minute since my flight put me in a different city and Enterprise could not get me a vehicle. Rates were better than Enterprise. I will look at using Avis again.Cons:I thought the drop off after hours was confusing, but since I dropped off at a second location different from pick up, the staff wouldn't have known the process. Signage in Lubbock is REALLY confusing, but I figured it out.Reviewed 5 Apr. 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Amarillo?

3400 I-40 West, Avis car hires

Address

3400 I-40 West

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 806 677 0286

Address

10801 Airport Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 806 335 3818

Good to know

Most popular location

10801 Airport Boulevard

Most popular car type

Premium

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Amarillo

  • Premium (Chevrolet Impala or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Amarillo.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Amarillo. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes