Book Avis hire cars in Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa
5 Aug — 12 Aug
Johannesburg, South Africa
Thu 5/8
Noon
Thu 12/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Johannesburg

Overall rating7.8 GoodBased on 41 reviews
Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.8
Overall
7.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.8
Value for money
7.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
25
7
7
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Fast and essyPros:Simple in simple out. It's connected to the airport. No shuttle!!!Cons:NothingReviewed 17 Jun. 2016
review fromkayak
9.6
Consistent excellent sevicePros:Great reception with well trained staff. Everything was ready on time.Cons:Leaving the amazing city....Reviewed 9 May 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Drop off was OK, but no closing invoice was issued when I dropped off. I was promised this would be emailed, but this did not materialiseCons:Issue closing invoice on drop-offReviewed 24 Jan. 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Make sure u know what u are getting!!Pros:Friendly service but slow as it’s africa! Didn’t get the car I was expecting so had to upgrade half way through rental.Reviewed 14 Jan. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast , eficient and friendly service.Pros:Good value for money.Cons:NothingReviewed 27 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
went smoothPros:Easy people to deal with at avis they were very niceReviewed 28 Aug. 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:I give a poor overall rating because I turned the car in on time and undamaged, and their attendant checked the car and indicated everything was OK, but Avis charged my credit card $535. I was expecting a small charge for gas and tolls, but not a charge for $535. Rick JonesReviewed 4 Nov. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Punctual, Clean. No issuesPros:Almost new car w only 3000km. Good service. Easy return.Reviewed 17 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:The customer service representatives were very friendly.Cons:They gave me a broken GPS that resulted in my being lost in Jo-burg for three hours. Even after returning the airport to explain the problem, the representative insisted that I simply had the GPS on the wrong setting. After returning to the road, it was obvious that they had no idea what they were talking about. Luckily I saw another Avis location off the highway and turned in there. Even though I believe this was a vehicle service center instead of a rental location, the two young women working that day worked tirelessly to find me a GPS system that actually received satellite information.Reviewed 12 Jul. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy AvisPros:Good clean basic carCons:NothingReviewed 21 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Another great experience at Avis-OR TamboPros:Prompt, efficient pick-up and drop-off, kind service, well-maintained, clean vehicle.Cons:It was hard to find the fuel station at OR Tambo Airport to refuel, and since I was running against the clock, I couldn't. But the Avis staff assured me that they'd handle it.Reviewed 4 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
car smaller than expectedPros:Walked to car from rental counterCons:Yes, it's seats 7 - but only if we hold our breath. The picture is deceiving - it was not at all a van.Reviewed 18 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Johannesburg?

Johannesburg Intl Airport, Avis car hires

Address

Johannesburg Intl Airport

Hours

Monday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+27 11 573 5000

Address

46 Alwen Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 11 496 1235

Good to know

Most popular location

Johannesburg Intl Airport

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • Mini car hires from Avis in Johannesburg are around 58% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • Economy (Chevrolet Spark or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Johannesburg.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Johannesburg. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes