Book Avis hire cars in Guatemala City

Guatemala City, Guatemala
4 Dec — 11 Dec
Same drop-off
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Sat 4/12
Noon
Sat 11/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Guatemala City

Overall rating5.8 OkayBased on 48 reviews
Cleanliness
6.4
Comfort
6.2
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.2
Value for money
5.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
5
5
13
0
Find reviews that mention:
9.6
Pros:The best experience renting a car in Latin America I have ever had.Reviewed 19 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:You charged me $150 for an insurance policy that didn't work in the country of question. Also didn't mention that I would have to pay a $1000 deposit for the vehicle. These things combined sunk the possibility of renting a car so I never picked it up and refunded my insurance purchase. What a shitty experience.Reviewed 12 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:Friendly staffCons:Variety of trucksReviewed 31 Aug. 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Invented random feesCons:Ended up walking away from my reservation. When I pointed out that the fees were already included in the total I was quoted, the employees became shifty and came up with a random airport tax/fee that doesn't exist. They quoted me one amount for a deposit, then they changed their minds because the rental is an SUV. I had no confidence left, so I walked away and rented from another rental company.Reviewed 13 May 2018
review fromkayak
3.6
Avis at the Guatemala Airport was corrupt and trieCons:Avis at the Guatemala Airport was corrupt and tried to charge us extra money for damages (a small bubble in the tire) that we did not make. In fact the agent at Avis did not even inspect the tires manually, but when we returned the car, he ran his hands over each tire looking for any damage. They told us that the tires were not included in the insurance that cost us more than the car, and they charged us $40.00 after we paid $60.00 in mandatory insurance that they told us we must buy, after we also bought travel car insurance from Allianz Travel Insurance before the trip which cost $54.00. They also charged us for gas after they told us there was no charge. This also occurred with two other customers that were there with us on November 24th. After discussing this with the supervisor via phone, we were still charged extra money. We think this is a corrupt business and definitely we DO NOT recommend this to future customers and we will NEVER do business with AVIS again.Reviewed 5 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Fake advertisingPros:Got there, didn't honor the rate. Rented with someone elseCons:AboveReviewed 15 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:sucks the worst company in the worldReviewed 11 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Car was cleanCons:It wasn't the car I ordered. Despite several days in advance with confirmation car wasn't waiting for me and I needed to go for 2WD instead of 4x4 which prevented me from entering certain areas and made my journey in Guatemala risky and stressful.Reviewed 14 Nov. 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:The rate quoted was not the rate we paid. Plus, the deposit was three times the amount of the rental. When we returned the car, the deposit was refunded, but that would be good to know before arriving. We also requested an SUV but received a way smaller car. We made do because we had family in the country, but next time we will rent a bigger car than an SUV.Reviewed 13 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
7.2
Cons:At the time of booking I purchased insurance, when I got to the pickup location the insurance was not accepted by AVIS, I had to cancel my insurance (this insurance was full coverage with no deductible). I had to purchase a more expensive insurance with a really high deductible with less coverage. Deductible was $1500 with no coverage for minor damage. iReviewed 5 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
5.6
driving in GuatemalaPros:The car was cleanCons:The price quoted to me on the phone and sent by email did not match at all what we had to pay when we got there, we had to pay at least $100 more. And we had to take insurance - which is fine if it's required but that wasn't stated up front as a requirement. The language barrier didn't help either as we don't speak Spanish.Reviewed 19 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Bad servicePros:They didn't provide my recive from my early return and my refund I call them so many tReviewed 7 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Guatemala City?

Aeropuerto Intl Zona 13, Avis car hires

Address

Aeropuerto Intl Zona 13

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - Invalid date
Sunday05:00 - 23:59

Phone

+502 2324 9000

Address

7 Avenida A 3-44, Zona 9

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 18:00
Sunday07:00 - 18:00

Phone

+502 2324 9000

Address

1 Avenida 12-77 - Zona 10

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+502 2331 5619

Good to know

Most popular location

Aeropuerto Intl Zona 13

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Guatemala City

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Guatemala City are around 73% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Guatemala City