Book Avis car rentals at Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport

Reykjavik, Iceland - Keflavik Intl
23 Jun — 30 Jun
Reykjavik, Iceland - Keflavik Intl
Wed 23/6
Noon
Wed 30/6
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

"The was in good shape."(in 1870 reviews)
"The was in good shape."(in 1902 reviews)
"The was in good shape."(in 1863 reviews)

Cons

"Very long wait to ."(in 1817 reviews)
"Terrible pickup and return ."(in 190 reviews)
"Very long wait to pick up ."(in 1763 reviews)

Reviews

Overall rating6.9 GoodBased on 15 reviews
Cleanliness
8.1
Comfort
6.9
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
5
1
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Service at deskPros:The member of staff at the Avis rental desk at KEF airport was fantastic, great knowledge and really friendly The speed of service was also far quicker and felt streamlined in comparison to elsewhereReviewed 16 Nov. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:easyCons:nothingReviewed 31 May 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Very expensive for the size of carCons:I reserved a Volkswagen and got an under powered Hyundai!Reviewed 5 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Everything went smoothlyPros:Polite, efficient staff. Process went quickly and smoothly. No pressure to buy extra insurance.Cons:A sign at the shuttle stop at the airport would have been great. We had no idea where to stand, or how long the wait would be... and it was very very very cold!Reviewed 22 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Cons:Very long wait to pick up car.Reviewed 11 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
3.2
CDW RipofgCons:I bought CDW from the link on the kayak website where I rented the car. I was told by Avis in Reyjkavic they would not honor this policy so I had to bu another policy from Avis. Waited in line over 1 hour to pick up car.Reviewed 15 Jun. 2017
review fromkayak
2.8
Watch out for the insurance upsellPros:car was okCons:High pressure insurance upsell. Make sure you arrange extra insurance coverage with online booking company. Cars and repairs are extremely expensive in Iceland, this Avis is will get you for the smallest scratch and change you the most they can - according to the pushy counter clerk.Reviewed 10 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
The pick up process was extremely slowCons:The line to pick up the car was long and moved very slow. It took us about an hour and 20 minutes to get through it. The person helping us tried hard to sell us on the extra insurance coverage by trying to scare us into buying it even though I already had purchased protection from a third party. The entire check in/ pick up process was very frustrating. After that, the car was fine and the drop off process was flawless.Reviewed 4 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Easy pickup process even if long lines. Car was spotless and in good shapeCons:Confusing drop off processs and location made airline checkin tighter than expectedReviewed 13 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:The representative upon my arrival was very courteous and helpful. The car was relatively easy to find in the parking lot and when we arrived it was very clean and ready for us to go. I also liked that it had a full tank of gas.Cons:I thought the car was a bit pricey for what it was. But maybe that's just because it was in Iceland and everything is expensive in Iceland. Also, I found the car to be a bit small. We had four adults and an infant in a car seat. The description of the vehicle said that it holds 5 and luggage for 5. However it barely held luggage for 3. One of the passengers had to have their luggage on their lap the entire way back to and from the airport. Finally, the drop-off procedure can stand some improving. When I dropped off the vehicle fortunately I had already dropped off the other four individuals at the terminal and I drove the car back by myself. But when I got to the drop-off location it was windy and snowing and raining and very cold and there's no shuttle back to the terminal so I had to walk back in that nasty weather. It wouldn't have been a problem in the summer time but that particular day was nasty.Reviewed 25 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
6.8
Bad airport for rentingCons:Terrible pickup and return experience.Reviewed 30 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
2.4
Cons:They didn't have the car we requested and couldn't put us in any of the several other cars that were in their lot. We ended up renting from someone else.Reviewed 24 Mar. 2019
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport

Terminal Building, Avis car hires

Address

Terminal Building

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:59
00:00 - 01:00
Tuesday06:00 - 23:59
00:00 - 01:00
Wednesday06:00 - 23:59
00:00 - 01:00
Thursday06:00 - 23:59
00:00 - 01:00
Friday06:00 - 23:59
00:00 - 01:00
Saturday06:00 - 23:59
00:00 - 01:00
Sunday06:00 - 23:59
00:00 - 01:00

Phone

+354 591 4000

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport

  • Mini hire cars from Avis at Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport are around 68% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport

  • On average a hire car from Avis at Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport costs $53 per day.

  • Luxury (Kia Sportage or similar) is the most frequently booked hire car type from Avis at Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport.

  • Terminal Building is the closest Avis hire car location to Reykjavik-Keflavik Airport. The telephone number for this location is +354 591 4000.

  • Yes