Book Avis car rentals at Memphis Airport

Memphis, TN, United States - Memphis
2 Oct — 9 Oct
Memphis, TN, United States - Memphis
Sat 2/10
Noon
Sat 9/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

"Good and fast service."(in 1870 reviews)
"Good and fast service."(in 1902 reviews)
"Good and fast service."(in 1863 reviews)

Cons

"The wasn't there."(in 1799 reviews)
""Then, myr smelled horribly like smoke.""(in 1817 reviews)
""Then, myr smelled horribly like smoke.""(in 1763 reviews)

Reviews

Overall rating6.6 GoodBased on 26 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.0
Overall
6.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.4
Value for money
6.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
1
1
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
Reservations only honored "if there are cars available"Pros:About the only thing I liked was that I was able to get a car. Four wheels and a seat.Cons:I cannot help feel that Avis took advantage of my family when we were in a vulnerable position. We needed to get to Little Rock as soon as we could to maximize time with my wife's grandfather, who has a terminal illness. In light of a mechanical issue that caused us to miss a connecting flight to Little Rock, it appeared that the best solution was to re-book our travel through Memphis, and rent a car to complete the next hundred or so miles of the journey. We were pleased to find that Avis allowed us to reserve a Toyota Corolla, or equivalent car, at a favorable rate. I did so, as we boarded our flight to Memphis. But when we arrived, and asked that Avis honor the reservation, I was informed that no cars were available other than a luxury car that would cost another $50+ per day. When I asked, l was told that a reservation is only good if there are cars available. This is of course inconsistent with every definition of reservation I have heard in my 36 years. I checked one of the other rental counters to see if they had options, and ultimately decided that I needed to quit wasting time and take the luxury option at Avis. We had a limited number of hours to spend with my wife's grandfather, and we had no choice. Upon returning to the counter, thinking I had misheard earlier, I asked another member of staff why the reservation was not honored, and was told again that the reservation is only good if there are cars available. Fortunately, I was then told that a Nissan Altima or Maxima had become available for not too much more than the Corolla I had reserved. I gladly took the Nissan and was happy not to pay the luxury sticker price. But I cannot help feel that I was forced to be upsold. Moreover, the car we ultimately received was musty with stale cigarette smoke, and had tires that, while perhaps not illegal to drive on, should have been replaced for winter driving. This has left me with a pretty sour taste in my mouth. Tell your friends, stay away from Avis unless you like making reservations for the joy of it, and not the benefits that reserving ordinarily conveys.Reviewed 13 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Ease of accessCons:Upon drop off there was no one around to explain what to do. Just made assumption we were to leave keys in car.Reviewed 4 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:ABSOLUTELY NOTHINGCons:Staff was rude and disrespectful... Car was reserved and when I proceeded upstairs to retrieve someone was loading their luggage in it. Charges were added to the change in reservation that were not added downstairs on the original.Reviewed 16 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
2.4
Scam artistsPros:On pickup they tried charging me three different rates until I insisted on the rate I reserved. Then, my car smelled horribly like smoke. So I exchanged it for a different one. Apparently they never logged it out correctly bc they called me the next day and asked me for the info on the keys and asked which car I had. When I tried to attach my wizard number they told me I could but it would be a lot more expensive. So much for being a preffered member! After bringing my car back I was in a hurry and grabbed my receipt and ran. Later looking at the receipt they gave me somebody else’s receipt. Overall, employees who are out to scam you and who just don’t care at all. I would and will try someplace else in the future.Reviewed 29 Aug. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:It was a very easy car rental. As soon as I walked up to the Avis rental agent she asked for my last name, took my I'd and credit card and I signed the agreement via the terminal and I was able to quickly leave. The car was very clean and very comfortable. It drove very well. Plus it was a nice looking car. Also the agent was very friendly.Cons:They switched the type of car I had agreed to when I made the reservation. At first it was a Galant but they changed it to an eclipse although I liked the eclipse better. It was a small SUV. Since I had a one way they said the Galant wasnt available for a one way rental. I was surprised they held an extra $150.00 on my credit card in addition to the rental price until I brought the car back on time which I did. I don't remember seeing the hold fee at the time the reservation was made. After I returned the car I remember hearing the agent say it would take several days for the hold fee to drop off. The vehicle had these very dark smudges around the back. It was dimly lit in the garage where I took possession of the car. So when I drove out I stopped and took a video of the car and photos. I did this to make sure I was protected and that they would not claim that I had committed any damage that was on the car before I took possession. It appeared that at some point someone had black duck tape around the back because I could see where large pieces of tape had been peeled off but this thick sticky residue remained. It didnt bother me because the car still drove fine but I sent a photo to Avis Facebook messenger with my confirmation number to let them see it. Regular washing would not take that off. Maybe a special type of chemical could remove it. The car had been washed but the tape residue was still there and very noticeable. Last, I picked up the car at the Memphis International Airport. I should have been informed that I go the 1st floor, instead of the 2nd floor, to process the rental because the 2nd floor is only for people with an Avis Preferred account. After the paperwork is processed on the 1st floor, I then had to go to the 3rd floor where the vehicles were kept to get the car.Reviewed 13 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Drop offCons:The car that I picked up in Memphis was filthy. It smelled and clearly hasn’t been cleaned, never mind sanitized and during a pandemic. I only noticed the extent of the dirty condition after my departure from the airport.Reviewed 26 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Everything.Reviewed 10 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
6.8
Not courteous at the pick up location And charged me full tank of gaPros:Car was cleanCons:Charge me for a full gas of tank without discussing with meReviewed 30 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:easy in and out at airporyReviewed 31 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Cons:Drop off was very long took 35 minutesReviewed 30 Jun. 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
What Do You Mean "No Cars"Pros:Car was fine once I geventually got one. I was told I would need to wait until a car came back in. Me, and 20 others waiting for their cars. 1 hour from walking to the counter untIL being checked put at the exit gate. I rent from Hertz all of the time and NEVER had this kind of issueReviewed 25 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:gave me a car with a bad tire even after I told them the tire pressure light was on.. ended up with a blow out.Cons:gave me a car with a bad tire even after I told them the tire pressure light was on.. ended up with a blow out.Reviewed 28 Dec. 2015
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Memphis Airport

2491 Winchester Rd, Avis car hires

Address

2491 Winchester Rd

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday07:00 - 23:00
Thursday07:00 - 23:00
Friday07:00 - 23:00
Saturday07:00 - 23:00
Sunday07:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 901 345 2847

Address

1264 E Shelby Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 901 398 1167

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Memphis Airport

  • 25% of our users found hire cars from Avis at Memphis Airport for $49 or less
  • Mini hire cars from Avis at Memphis Airport are around -94% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Memphis Airport

  • On average a hire car from Avis at Memphis Airport costs $49 per day.

  • Economy (Ford Fiesta or similar) is the most frequently booked hire car type from Avis at Memphis Airport.

  • 2491 Winchester Rd is the closest Avis hire car location to Memphis Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 901 345 2847.

  • Yes