Book Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport

San Francisco, CA, United States - San Francisco
27 Sep — 4 Oct
San Francisco, CA, United States - San Francisco
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

"I loved my rental !"(in 1870 reviews)
"I loved my rental !"(in 1902 reviews)
"I loved my rental !"(in 1863 reviews)

Cons

"Avis has TERRIBLE ."(in 163 reviews)
" without online reservation required"(in 1799 reviews)
" available without online reservation required"(in 1817 reviews)

Reviews

Overall rating7.4 GoodBased on 40 reviews
Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
8.0
Overall
7.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.8
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
3
2
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
7.2
Pros:Staff was greatCons:I tried to change my reservation via the phone, but was unable to reach anyone. I ended up just dropping the car off a full day early, but was charged the full amount.Reviewed 28 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Avis tried to overcharge at returnCons:We returned a couple of hours late, and rather than charge us for an additional day, which would have been acceptable to us, Avis tried to charge us almost 3x the original contract price. In the end, and after some arguing, Avis agreed to waive the penalty, and charged us a fair price. But it was a hassle getting to that point, especially since we were on a schedule (had a flight to catch) I've rented a lot of cars (mostly for business, through my company), and never once had an issue with a return that was +/- a few hours, but I guess when you rent through a 3rd party agency you have to be a little more careful about following the contract to the letter. We will be more careful for future rentals, but it's a shame that an otherwise decent rental experience, with a company who I have generally been loyal to (I am an Avis Preferred member), had to end on this note.Reviewed 24 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff at the pickup was very friendly and helpful.Cons:I was unable to find the return location, tried calling and no answer. Ended up being late by 20 min and getting charged for a whole extra day. The drop off process was pretty bad.Reviewed 18 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
7.6
Long Lines to Pick UpPros:the ability to just drop off with no hassleCons:The long lines to pick up the truck and not many workers supporting itReviewed 17 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:The two hour wait at pick up was RIDICULOUS. Avis has TERRIBLE customer service.Reviewed 25 Jul. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Good car to value ratioPros:Car was a good brand and good quality.Cons:nothing.Reviewed 10 Dec. 2018
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Easy drop-off.Cons:The person who received the car did not pay any attention to the comments and complaints I had about the car we were just returning. Customer service fail.Reviewed 26 Oct. 2015
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Car available without online reservation required.Cons:Took at least a half an hour for car seats to arrive. Then after loading kids and all our stuff, we turned on the engine and it said maintenance required. Had to get another car and then wait for car seats again. Wish they had upgraded us to a bigger or nicer vehicle for all the trouble. Whole thing took about hour and a half to finally get us on the road.Reviewed 22 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:We had the exact car we had reserved on the internet. Also there were no additional fees, it was charged as it was specified in the reservation.Cons:The clerk was a bit pushy to sell the insurance. I had a card with chip but only swiping was supported and maybe because of this my card didn't go through and I had to use a friend's card.Reviewed 23 May 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Cons:Kayak doesn’t offer an option to skip the line so we had to wait an hour just to show our drivers license. Additionally I had called customer service in advance to change my reservation to pick up the car at 11 instead of noon and was told no problem but the agent wanted to charge me an additional day even tho I was only going to have the car 8 hours totalReviewed 4 Aug. 2018
review fromkayak
7.2
Cons:SFO is an expensive airport to rent a one way vehicleReviewed 21 Jul. 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:They tried to charge me for an extra hour at $90 even though I turned it in an hour early. They didn't even say anything about it just printed the receipt and acted like nothing had changed.Reviewed 8 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near San Francisco Airport

780 Mcdonnell Road, Avis car hires

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

230 Harbor Way

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 650 588 5585

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at San Francisco Airport

  • Intermediate hire cars from Avis at San Francisco Airport are around 40% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at San Francisco Airport

  • On average a hire car from Avis at San Francisco Airport costs $58 per day.

  • Intermediate (Ford Escape or similar) is the most frequently booked hire car type from Avis at San Francisco Airport.

  • 780 Mcdonnell Road is the closest Avis hire car location to San Francisco Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 650 877 6780.

  • Yes