Book Avis hire cars in Washington

Washington, DC, United States
4 Aug — 11 Aug
Washington, DC, United States
Wed 4/8
Noon
Wed 11/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Washington

Overall rating6.5 GoodBased on 100 reviews
Cleanliness
6.5
Comfort
6.5
Overall
6.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
6.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
42
18
18
21
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Pros:Horrible service... additional charges for no obvious reasons. WTH!!!Cons:Charge what they saidReviewed 4 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:Great service! Friendly staff! Gave me a free upgrade since there was going to be a snow storm and they wanted me to stay safe!Reviewed 2 Feb. 2021
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:Nothing.Cons:Everything.1 hour to take the car because one of the guys was smoking ash.the car was not ready.no navigator in the car and we need it.over payed.no options.we arrived late to our meeting because of them.the fuel tank was completly empty and we lost more time looking for a gas station...and we payed more than the double than in the web site for nothing.once in phily the drop off even worse trying make us pay 225 dollars more.66 dollars finish in 135 dollars.thieves.Reviewed 31 Dec. 2019
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:The attendant at the kiosk was a little chatty with the people ahead of us in the line. So it felt like we waited in that line longer than usual. Additionally, the driver's door was dented so we had to wait in another line to find out how to deal with it. Once that was sorted, it was a breeze and returning the car was very fastReviewed 5 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Cons:Only the pickup location had an unfriendly staff, not concerned about what was reserved as far as trunk space and not accommodating ! Fortunately my visitors brought small suitcase and we had to place one of them into the back seat. Please ensure trunk space advertised matches the car, if not, free upgrades should be provided instead of doubling prices!!! That was very rude. Everything else was excellent!!!!!!!!!!!Reviewed 13 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
First time ever to use AvisPros:Very easy to get through the check out process in D.C. And the car performed well and was spacious. Used to like Enterprise but Avis was a much better value and the experience was great.Reviewed 25 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly staff, explained everything clearly, not rushed, car pick-up and drop-off went smoothly -- great rental experience!Reviewed 24 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly and efficient staff both in Washington and Queens.Cons:Nothing.Reviewed 8 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Weiney Tolessa with Avis at Georgetown location was extremely helpful with my check in process. I greatly appreciated her professionalism.Reviewed 13 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
2.8
I booked the car through KAYAK but payment at AVIS at different chargeCons:We make the booking car rental at KAYAK at the cost 348.92 $ for Avis Rent a Car Confirmation Number: 02673329US1 ,But when pick up AVIS made up the contract charge 572$ at 11:15am (28th Dec) . We claim the payment at return time of drop off at (12:00 noon 30th Dec) , They said that because we pick up 45min early then they charge additional 1 more day , it's not fair if they mentioned clearly and adivise us we would delay pick up 45 min to meet the contract term . The total amount 572$ was not clearly in detail . In additional on 2nd Feb ,2018 our bank card has been charge other 130$ by Avis for unknown reason . All the gap paid amount with booking amount should be returned to us as requested . Please help us to claim back to AVIS . We are very upset for what KAYAK has GUARANTEE THE LOWEST PRICE ON EVERYTHING YOU BOOK Find a lower price, we'll refund you 100% of the difference. Book an Express Deal, we'll refund you 200% of the difference. Please check & claim back money for us . Tell us the contact point in AVIS for claim this booking .Reviewed 8 Feb. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
They stole from me from start to finishCons:Only 5/6 of a tank when I took the car (already down the road when I realized). Then they charged me a full extra day and $30 damage waiver when I brought the car back a couple hours late.Reviewed 14 May 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Hassle free Car hirePros:A very efficient pick up procedure, all the staff are very helpful and friendly. We are preferred members and it certainly keeps everything very simple.Reviewed 24 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Washington?

1908 L Street Northwest, Avis car hires

Address

1908 L Street Northwest

Hours

Monday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 887 4759

Address

99 H Street NE

Hours

Monday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 682 2983

Address

4400 Connecticut Avenue Northwest

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Saturday07:00 - 19:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 686 5149

Address

5911 Blair Road Northwest

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 202 722 2680

Address

1072 Wisconsin Avenue NW

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Saturday07:00 - 19:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 469 7179

Good to know

Most popular location

1908 L Street Northwest

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

$252/day

Good deal

$160/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Washington

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in Washington for $160 or less
  • Full-size car hires from Avis in Washington are around 55% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Washington

  • On average a car hire from Avis in Washington costs $252 per day.

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Washington.

  • Avis has 5 car hire locations in Washington. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes