Book Avis hire cars in Newark

Newark, NJ, United States
25 Oct — 1 Nov
Newark, NJ, United States
Mon 25/10
Noon
Mon 1/11
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Newark

Overall rating7.5 GoodBased on 83 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
8.0
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.3
Value for money
7.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
0
0
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:Left my iPad in the car and called back a couple of hours later to be told “it could not be found”. Dishonest staffReviewed 6 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was great !!Cons:first car smelled like smoke and they quickly switched to another (upgrade)Reviewed 8 Sep. 2020
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:First car offered to me displayed a "service required' notice on the dashboard. Second car was ok.Reviewed 21 May 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The pick up and drop off experience was great. I also called Avis to extend my reservation and received the information I needed to make an informed decision.Cons:The car was not as clean as I expected - there was obvious food and debris on the seats. There was also a faint smell of smoke. Given the pandemic I would have expected cleaning procedures would have been increased.Reviewed 5 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was very friendly and drop off was incredibly easy.Cons:I wish the rate was a little bit more efficient. I felt as though I paid a considerable amount for a one day rental.Reviewed 23 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Like the Nissan RougeCons:The inside windshield was covered with a residue film as if cleaned seemed to have been cleaned with a lysol wipe or something resulting in dangerous visibility; which became noticeable once out into traffic and nighttime headlights. Desperately trying to clean it with my sleeve, I missed the exit resulting in an unwanted late night tour through Newark. The agent at Newark was pleasant enough, though I had no instructions concerning dropbox drop off resulting in two trips of considerable distance from the rental lot at ABE at 11 PM. I’m sure there’s small print somewhere, but the price went from $81 to ringing up to $250, which the agent explained was $100 holding fee, hopefully refundable for my two hour rentsl.Reviewed 15 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Outside of the car was not cleaned at all. Makes it difficult to check for dents and nicks.Cons:clear the exterior of the carReviewed 25 May 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Car was clean and newCons:Customer service agent was average....Reviewed 18 Nov. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The car was very clean and nice.Reviewed 27 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Pickup was a mess. Only 1 agent and long wait.Reviewed 28 Aug. 2016
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff was friendly. Charged double at drop off because, according to the agent, the car was returned several hours early. Yes early. They adjusted the price after I asked and explained that I was supposed to drop the car at the exact return time or the system charges more. Make sure to read your receipt.Cons:Simple drop off with correct charges.Reviewed 11 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
6.4
FrustratedPros:I liked the price of the car. And the car itself I was upgraded to since mine was unavailable. The woman at the counter was polite enough, but The rest was lacking in general.Cons:When I picked up the car the woman was polite enough but didn’t have the car I rented available. I was provided with an upgrade so it worked out but then she didn’t fully explain the gas prepay option (aka you get no money back even if you return it still half full) since it is in the fine print of a pamphlet they also don’t give you. Then I was told where the car was, but no one did a walk around of the vehicle. No one showed me where the key features were or anything really.Reviewed 21 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Newark?

28 Newark Airport Bldg 28, Avis car hires

Address

28 Newark Airport Bldg 28

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 973 961 4300

Good to know

Most popular location

28 Newark Airport Bldg 28

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

$146/day

Good deal

$128/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Newark

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in Newark for $128 or less
  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in Newark are around -5% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Newark

  • On average a car hire from Avis in Newark costs $146 per day.

  • Intermediate (Ford Escape or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Newark.

  • Avis has 1 car hire location in Newark. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes