Book Avis car rentals at San Diego Airport

San Diego, CA, United States - San Diego
3 Nov — 10 Nov
Same drop-off
San Diego, CA, United States - San Diego
Wed 3/11
Noon
Wed 10/11
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices at San Diego Airport

Avis
$172/dayStandard
$232/dayPremium coupe

Pros

"Nice ."(in 1902 reviews)
" was in perfect condition."(in 1870 reviews)
" was in perfect condition."(in 1863 reviews)

Cons

"Extremely bad ."(in 163 reviews)
"Not double booking the "(in 1817 reviews)
"Not double booking the "(in 1763 reviews)

Reviews

Overall rating7.9 GoodBased on 206 reviews
Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
8.2
Overall
7.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.8
Value for money
7.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
41
11
13
16
0
Find reviews that mention:
3.2
Wrong vehicleCons:I booked a van for 7 people and 2 bags. But when I went there to collect the vehicle their representative incorrectly told me that I booked a 12 people van and not the 7 people van. I showed then the confirmation email from Kayak that clearly said that the 7-people van has been booked. They said that the picture of the vehicle is that of the 12 people. Avis might have overbooked their 7-people vans and they should find another way of cheating its customers at the 11th hour, especially when they have the confirmation email that says the 7-people van has been booked.Reviewed 27 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
Overbooked minivans, reservations mean nothing!Cons:Was not able to get the minivan as reserved, apparently they were overbooked by several rentals and our late arrival put us at the end of the line. Since we were travelling with 7 people it was one of our only options, we were given a 15 passenger van. Fortunately it fit in our underground parking. We were unable to exchange for a smaller vehicle on the first couple days of our trip and after that it became an inconvenience to exchange. None of the 15 seats folded down so it was challenging getting our baggage into the van as the seats came right to the back of the vehicle. When we arrived at the airport rental it only had 2 staff at the counter and they were basically doing damage control. Our agent Simone was doing her best to manage the situation and did offer us a small discount if we did take the Van. I did appreciate Simone's efforts but this is inexcusable.Reviewed 4 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
2.4
Unscrupulous UpsellingCons:- at pickup at San Diego airport they claimed that my car wasn't ready so worked for 15 mins to aggressively upsell - tried 5 times to get me to pay more for a different class - after I threatened to walk on principle, somehow they immediately "found" the car I reserved - I understand the logic of getting them to try to upsell, but when it feels like they are trying to hold you up and relentlessly push to get you to pay more for what you reserved it is criminal - it felt really sleazy. I would never go here -the car also smelled like smokeReviewed 14 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Staff at San Diego was helpful - the gentleman offered me an upgrade and when I hesitated he lessened the fee. However, surprisingly, when I received the invoice, he had not lessened the fee. Therefore the billing at head office and the contracted rental agreement did not match. The Van Nuys drop off was a disaster - the guy was not present, he finally returned my v/m after I waited more than 20 minutes, told me to leave the keys with another company and I was charged another full day although the vehicle was returned on time. I only found out about the extra charges because of my credit card statement.Cons:1. The San Diego office staff intentionally or accidentally provided 2 different billing amounts which is deceitful or incompetent. 2. Van Nuys guy was not even present at the building. He intentionally or arbitrarily added an extra amount. Extremely bad customer service.Reviewed 3 Feb. 2020
review fromkayak
6.8
InsurancePros:Great car and convenience of dropping off at a different location.Cons:Very agressive on selling the insurance even after I Had declined. Older guy named Eugene, I felt bad and decided to be a nice guy and let him make a sell; even though it was duplicate insurance to my own personal rental car coverage and credit card coverage. He told me it was 11 dollars, I figured it would be nice to help him out and buy it. Found out later it was 11 dollars plus the additional 6.99 he never disclosed. Dirty sales, I guess that's what I get for being nice and trying to help somebody out. I won't be back.Reviewed 2 Mar. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The staff was friendlyCons:I’m a US born citizen, living overseas (military), and needed to use my military USAREUR license as well as my international drivers license as my US was stolen (stolen wallet). I called ahead of time to ensure I would be able to make a reservation and was told by customer service that I would. I booked my rental via prepay. When I arrived to the rental office, however, I was told that because I used my international license that I would have to do a second deposit of $250 but it would have to be via credit card. I was not told this beforehand, so I didn’t bring a credit card with me. The agent told me I could call the customer service hotline and get a refund do to the situation. However, I called and was told “well our policy is you need an additional credit card, so you will not be refunded, is there anything else I can do for you”. Now, I’m out $171 because of missing information and being told I could get my money back when apparently I can’t.Reviewed 24 May 2021
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:pick up and drop off were easy; price was excellent, especially for one wayCons:better lighting in pickup garage--hard to familiarize myself with dashboard in the darkReviewed 22 Aug. 2019
review fromkayak
6.4
Pros:It was cheapCons:Customer service could be better. Dumb policy about requiring a credit card because debit card is not good enough even though I had thousands in my account. I don't understand why a credit card trumps all other forms of payment. Also drop off was horrible. Employees were rude, dirty, and disheveledReviewed 18 Sep. 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Cons:customer service on phone was not informed i was provided with incorrect information, person just hung up phone without any good buy or thank youReviewed 11 Jul. 2019
review fromkayak
9.2
at the end it was all good!Pros:to rent a car on short notice on a holiday. being able to get a discount on top of it. Easy drop off.Cons:It was hard to find my way to the car in the confusing parking lot. Had to go the wrong way to get there. The car wasn't in the place it was suppose to be. The guy on the gate had NO CLUE and one other employee we had ask for direction was also clueless. The woman I made the contract was excellent and when I complained about the wrong location and the trash IN the car and the fact, that the car really wasn't that clean all together, she gave me a $30 discount and that was very appropriate!Reviewed 3 Jan. 2016
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:When we picked up the car, we had paid for a small car. The only thing they had for us was a van. We had to drive all the way to our destination in the van, then turn around and return the car the next morning to exchange it for a small car. They then tried to charge us $30 for gas we didn’t use.Reviewed 31 Aug. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
AmazingPros:I like the fact that when i called Avis, there was no long wait. Plus she was very polite and professionally satisfied all my needs by answering all my questions about my online request. To top it off it was midnight.Cons:When I arrived, the beautiful lady in the front went far beyond her customer service profession to make things happen. She was truly amazing. It was fast easy and would definitely recommend this to everyone I know. thanks to her for that experience.Reviewed 10 May 2017
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near San Diego Airport

3355 Admiral Boland Way, Avis car hires

Address

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 688 5000

Address

2790 Kurtz St Ste 1

Hours

Monday07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday07:00 - 16:00
Thursday07:00 - 16:00
Friday07:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 14:00
Sunday08:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 619 220 4920

Address

1670 Kettner Boulevard Suite 1

Hours

Monday08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday08:00 - 14:00
Wednesday08:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 14:00
Friday08:00 - 14:00
Saturday08:00 - 14:00
Sunday08:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 619 231 7137

Address

640 Broadway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday08:00 - 14:00
Wednesday08:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 14:00
Friday08:00 - 14:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 619 544 0438

Address

500 Hotel Circle North

Hours

Monday08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday08:00 - 14:00
Wednesday08:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 14:00
Friday08:00 - 14:00
Saturday08:00 - 14:00
Sunday08:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 619 574 5377

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at San Diego Airport

  • Book your hire car at San Diego Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy hire cars from Avis at San Diego Airport are around -2% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at San Diego Airport

  • On average a hire car from Avis at San Diego Airport costs $45 per day.

  • Intermediate (Ford Escape or similar) is the most frequently booked hire car type from Avis at San Diego Airport.

  • 3355 Admiral Boland Way is the closest Avis hire car location to San Diego Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 619 688 5000.

  • Yes