Book Avis car rentals at Tampa Airport

Tampa, FL, United States - Tampa
1 Nov — 8 Nov
Tampa, FL, United States - Tampa
Mon 1/11
Noon
Mon 8/11
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

""Then, but not fully cleared.""(in 1902 reviews)
""The staff was nice, ther was good.""(in 1870 reviews)
""The staff was nice, ther was good.""(in 1863 reviews)

Cons

"Waited in line about 90mins to ."(in 1817 reviews)
"The was old and very dirty inside."(in 1763 reviews)
"The was old and very dirty inside."(in 1799 reviews)

Reviews

Overall rating8.1 ExcellentBased on 61 reviews
Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.4
Overall
8.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
8.1
Value for money
7.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
9
5
5
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.8
WORST PICKUP EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFECons:Upon landing at Tampa int airport at 515am, I went directly across to the rental building. With 4 people in front of me, I knew I'd be waiting a few minutes. 2 AND A HALF HOURS LATER I was finally helped by the sole employee working. Not only was this woman working with no help, she was the slowest moving human I've ever seen. My check in experience was almost 30 minutes long. Most of this time was watching her try to find the keys to my car in a box of probably 50 car keys. When she couldn't find it, she gave me a car I specifically told her I didn't want. Then continued on with the process. At 755am I finally got up to the car only to discover my internal fear was correct, our child's stroller didn't fit in the trunk, which was why I didn't want a corolla. There was no apology for any inconvenience of my time AT ALL. This woman needs to find anot her job immediately where it is appropriate to work so slowly. I WILL NEVER rent with avis/budget again.Reviewed 26 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Over chargedPros:Quick service, which other car rentals also provide. So the answer is nothing. Nothing stood outCons:It was my mistake for not noticing the final Bill. As We have all been there arriving to an Airport it can be a little stressful. I picked up my rental at 1PM and booked a return for 3:30PM in which the Reservation automatically scheduled me for a 1030AM drop off, I explained this to the agent when I was picking up the vehicle, his reply was not to worry any and all fees can be waived, he was more interested in convincing me for an upgrade. Results, I returned the vehicle at 5PM and was charged a late fee and a extra day. Never again should of stayed with EnterpriseReviewed 20 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Easy to reserve and pickupCons:There was no damage declaration form and I was concerned because the car had a moderately large sized dent on the front pillar over the driver door when we picked it up. There were no false charges or anything, just made me a little worried.Reviewed 3 Nov. 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The staff was nice, the car was good. The turn in was great.Cons:The pick-up was very slow, the car I reserved was not available, it took an excessive amount of time to place me into a vehicle that would work, but the internal space available and the gas mileage were considerably worse than what I requested. The car was clean, but not fully cleared.Reviewed 17 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Waited on line too too longReviewed 20 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very friendly staff at drop off and pick upCons:The car had dents in it that no one discussed and I was afraid I would be blamed.Reviewed 18 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Yes, but charged 150 extra for additional 2.5 hours. I was stuck in traffic..Cons:Never rent from Budget.Reviewed 18 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:The car was nice enoughCons:The person who answered the phone when I asked to exchange did not explain clearly. It was very trying to get the right answer. He was trained to read verbatim but was not trainedto get the right answers to questions. Also the pickup was funbled. They gave me a car that wasn’t in the spot indicated. And after all that, you charged $100 extra an hour.Reviewed 19 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Avis had the best availability of cars in Florida. The drop-off was simple.Cons:The line to pick up my already reserved vehicle was almost an hour long. All I had to do was present my ID, choose my options & sign paperwork. Other car rental companies allow me to do this online.Reviewed 7 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Attendant not helpfulCons:Dropped car off. Attendant did not believe car had been received damaged. had to repeat story three times and show the picture I took but she didn't care. Again will avoid Avis - Budget and Payless were grouped with this so I will avoid them as well.Reviewed 12 Nov. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The service and the car was great!Reviewed 1 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:Waited in line about 90mins to get a car. Why is drop off so easy but pickup is so complicated?Reviewed 19 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Tampa Airport

5409 Airport Service Rd, Avis car hires

Address

5409 Airport Service Rd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 813 396 3500

Address

6903 North Dale Mabry Highway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 813 933 5606

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Tampa Airport

  • Intermediate hire cars from Avis at Tampa Airport are around 2% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Tampa Airport

  • On average a hire car from Avis at Tampa Airport costs $37 per day.

  • Intermediate (Ford Escape or similar) is the most frequently booked hire car type from Avis at Tampa Airport.

  • 5409 Airport Service Rd is the closest Avis hire car location to Tampa Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 813 396 3500.

  • Yes